How The Olympics Should Be Set-Up.

Whilst enjoying a spot of brunch in London during the Olympics (Eggs Benedict, thanks for asking), I discussed my thoughts on the format of the Olympics.

Myself and my brunching colleagues have decided to change the format.

Option 1) Olympic Lucky Dip

Rather than have all these athletes completely suited and built for one event, why not have a pre-Olympic lucky dip. All competing and qualifying athletes would meet in the Olympic village prior to the Games and much like the aptly named Hunger Games, they would hear their name announced.

Their name would be announced as they are assigned to a randomly selected event.

Picture this, “Representing Great Britian… Tom Daley…. Indoor Volleyball”

or “Representing Jamaica… Usain Bolt… Sychronised Swimming”

Now let’s see who the best ‘athlete’ is!

Option 2) One Event.

After watching Jessica Ennis dominate the Women’s Heptathlon, it got me thinking (shocking, I know).

What is the entire Olympics was one event. One male event and one female event. Each athlete competes in 12, 15, 25 events? Tally up the times and the points and you have the “2012 Olympian”

I suggest the following events: 100m sprint, 5000m, Javelin, long jump, table tennis, archery, weightlifting, fencing, 200m individual medley swimming, floor gymnastics, sprint cycling and rowing.

I just got tired writing that.

Ok. That’s it.

About jamieonsport

My name is Jamie and I have been addicted to sports since I was 6. As a method of self-prescribed medication for the illness, I thought it would be good to detail my thoughts on the sporting world. So welcome to the workings of my inner-monologue. Join in, ignore, share, laugh, cry, be offended, be inspired, take my ranting however you will, but thanks for checking in.
This entry was posted in Olympics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

