Please Ban Mash Potatoes!

As my excitement builds for this year’s Ryder Cup, and I prepare my man-cave for a three day hibernation, I find myself bracing my ears for audio abuse.

No, I’m not talking about Colin Montgomerie and Butch Harmon’s insomnia-curing-debates about pin positions. I am, of course, talking about the chants of “GET IN THE HOLE” and “MASH POTATOES” that are sure to irritate millions watching the matches on TV.

Much like the vuvuzelas at the 2010 football World Cup, the chants were funny and entertaining at one point. Sadly, for us that actually enjoying watching golf, that point was a long (long) time ago.

Football took the stance that the audio interference was directly affecting fans enjoyment of the product they were broadcasting around the world. So they banned the plastic horns from subsequent events and matches, and fans quickly stopped reaching for the mute button and began enjoying the sport once more.

So why don’t the Ryder Cup take the same stance?

Year on year the Ryder Cup builds in excitement and anticipation, with fans and players giving up all they can to make it to the event for three days every two years. Even current World #1, Rory McIlroy, once described the event as an “exhibition” before making it into the team. After making it to his first Ryder Cup his opinion had changed:

“I don’t want to miss a Ryder Cup for the next 20 years. I realise now what the Ryder Cup means and what it means to everyone.”

Well guess what Rory… it means that much to us as fans.

And as a fan, I demand better protection for my ears. I can put up with Monty’s stuttering analysis, or Nick Faldo’s advice on Tiger’s swing, but I don’t spend an entire weekend parked on my sofa to hear some intoxicated American screaming at Phil Mickelson’s ball to “GET IN THE HOLE” from 500 yards out.

I have a dream people. I have a dream today. That one day my children will watch the Ryder Cup and not have to ask their father what “mash potatoes” have to do with golf.

Let’s take a stand.

By sharing or agreeing with my point, I will consider it your signature on my amateur petition to irradicate this torture.

About jamieonsport

My name is Jamie and I have been addicted to sports since I was 6. As a method of self-prescribed medication for the illness, I thought it would be good to detail my thoughts on the sporting world. So welcome to the workings of my inner-monologue. Join in, ignore, share, laugh, cry, be offended, be inspired, take my ranting however you will, but thanks for checking in.
This entry was posted in Golf. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Please Ban Mash Potatoes!

  1. Ron Burgundy says:

    Totally agree, how to ruin elite sport at it’s best. I wonder how many of these “fans” have to deal with their playing partners shouting at them in the monthly medal. Ryder Cup = best weekend in sport – fact!

Leave a Reply

