“Crystal Ball Technology”

As I sit watching my interactive TV, watching a DVR-recorded football match programmed to record via my iPhone, with my iPad in front of me, tweeting with fellow sports addicts across the world, I think to myself… we need more technology.

The integration of technology in sports has been incredible. From golf, cricket, tennis, rugby, athletics and so on, technology has not only enhanced the sport itself but even more so, the enjoyment of watching from home.

Hawkeye in tennis, pro tracer in golf, hotspot in cricket, all offer a cool, easy-to-understand, technological glimpse of the sport. It is immediate, relevant and really adds to the production of sport on TV.

Football – specifically the people, more specifically the man, who runs it – have been technology-adverse for years. Despite the obvious need for goal-line technology, the powers at be prefer to watch games decided by questionable decisions made on-the-whim by the officials. TV coverage has advanced and studio pre and post game breakdowns are full of stats and technology, but the game itself is largely unchanged from how it was played decades ago.

Luckily, I am here to help.

“Crystal-Ball Technology”, perhaps a slightly cheesy name (open to suggestions), essentially shows where a ball was heading before being deflected, saved or blocked.

Picture this, you are watching an El Classico match-up that is a tied with just a few minutes remaining. Ronaldo lines up a shot from 30 yards out, you take a deep breath in as you hear the clean strike leave his foot. But the ball is deflected out for a corner.

There is probably 15-20 seconds of delay until that corner will be hit, and occasionally you will get a replay of the shot, although not always likely if it was deflected/blocked. With “Crystal-Ball Technology” you (the viewer) can see where the shot from Ronaldo was going to end up. Much like the hawkeye technology in tennis and cricket, the ball is tracked with a virtual flight based on speed, spin and positioning gained from cameras that track the ball throughout the match.

Now you can watch and see that had Ronaldo’s shot not been blocked, it would have found the top-left corner of the goal and likely won the match. Imagine the drama!

You’re welcome FIFA. Shoot me a Facebook message when you decide to use the “Crystal Ball Technology” and I will send you an invoice.

About jamieonsport

My name is Jamie and I have been addicted to sports since I was 6. As a method of self-prescribed medication for the illness, I thought it would be good to detail my thoughts on the sporting world. So welcome to the workings of my inner-monologue. Join in, ignore, share, laugh, cry, be offended, be inspired, take my ranting however you will, but thanks for checking in.
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

