Butching America’s National Anthem

I moved to America 10 years ago and I quickly learnt that there a few things you, as a non-American, can’t do:

– Mock the Armed Forces
– Diss the American Flag
– Mention either World War
– Insult the National Anthem

Unfortunately for many people, the lyrics to the national anthem are hard to remember. Deadspin published an infographic showing the parts of the anthem that are most commonly messed up.

As someone who suffers, physically, from watching people publicly embarrassed, I struggled to watch this entire clip.

Alexis Normand, a Jazz-folk francophone singer-songwriter from Saskatoon, was asked to sing the US anthem at the recent NHL Memorial Cup.

She tried, bless her, she tried. But wow, wow did she fail. She failed in impress fashion.

Sit back, try your best to relax, and enjoy this infamous rendition of America’s Star Spangled Banner (prepare to uncomfortably curl your toes):


This is what I heard:

(personal highlight is the players laughing at 1:05 in)

Oh sake can you see,
by the dawn’s early light.
What so proudly we hailed,
at the twilight’s last…first gleaming.
Who’s broad stripes and bright stars
(…pause)
new the perilous nigh?
(…awkward laugh/jeering)
(…pause)
Who’s broad stripes and bright stars (again?)
at the dawn’s early light?
What’s so-ever we saved and the dawnlight still gleaming
and the rocks of emba
the bombs bursting in air
(…pause)
I… and the land was still there?
O say does that star spangled banner yet wave
Oh the land of the free
and the home of the free

Way to finish Alexis, I don’t think anyone noticed!

About jamieonsport

My name is Jamie and I have been addicted to sports since I was 6. As a method of self-prescribed medication for the illness, I thought it would be good to detail my thoughts on the sporting world. So welcome to the workings of my inner-monologue. Join in, ignore, share, laugh, cry, be offended, be inspired, take my ranting however you will, but thanks for checking in.
Video | This entry was posted in Random, Video. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

