William Tell: The Golfing Version

In college, I attended a party filled mainly by student athletes. As was often the case at this testosterone-fueled occasions, competitive spirit was high. We wouldn’t simply drink, we battled in drinking games that lead to some interesting stories.

One such night, I was doing my best to impress a specific girl and with some alcohol-infused confidence laid claim to the fact I was certain I could hit a golf ball off her foot with my eyes closed.

Out to the soccer field we went, and with a butterknife 5-iron, I balanced a ball on the toe of her shoe, closed my eyes, said a prayer and struck a pure shot across the mound to the American Football pitch. I was very lucky. In hindsight, this could have gone seriously wrong and could have ended in an awkward moment for me and the volleyball team having one less player for the remainder of the season.

Anyway, even in my most confident of days on the golf course, I would never have tried this.

About jamieonsport

My name is Jamie and I have been addicted to sports since I was 6. As a method of self-prescribed medication for the illness, I thought it would be good to detail my thoughts on the sporting world. So welcome to the workings of my inner-monologue. Join in, ignore, share, laugh, cry, be offended, be inspired, take my ranting however you will, but thanks for checking in.
Video | This entry was posted in Golf, Video. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

