World Rankings Cann Table

Much like numbers or statistics can put an achievement in context, a graphic or infographic can further explain the point a reporter/blogger/writer is trying to make.

Jenny Cann was a big Arsenal football fan and lover of stats. In 1998, she developed a table for displaying the Premier League standings, assigning teams to their points tally rather than their position in the league. Known as the Cann Table, the graphic is still used by many sources across the internet.

It proved especially popular recently in displaying the current battle for relegation going on in the Premier League.

I loved the idea.

In fact, I spent most of the weekend thinking about how I could use it to display statistics or rankings. But how could I make it translate or explain some aspect of golf?

Alas, I decided on the world rankings. So, using the Cann Table, here is the current top-50 players in the world, using the world rankings rating of average-points-per-event.

worldrankingcanntable

Conclusion: Tiger is in fact, very good.

About jamieonsport

My name is Jamie and I have been addicted to sports since I was 6. As a method of self-prescribed medication for the illness, I thought it would be good to detail my thoughts on the sporting world. So welcome to the workings of my inner-monologue. Join in, ignore, share, laugh, cry, be offended, be inspired, take my ranting however you will, but thanks for checking in.
This entry was posted in Golf. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to World Rankings Cann Table

  1. Pingback: PGA Tour Career Earnings Cann Table | JamieOnSport.

Leave a Reply

