Why The Rory McIlroy-Caroline Wozniacki Split Might Be Good For Both?

Like many I expected this week to be full of Rory McIlroy headlines. But like those same people, I wasn’t expecting this one.

Untitled-2

As Rory returned, as favourite, to the BMW Championship at Wentworth, his week was turned upside as we learnt that his three-year relationship with Caroline Wozniacki was over. Rory released this statement Tuesday morning:

There is no right way to end a relationship that has been so important to two people. The problem is mine. The wedding invitations issued at the weekend made me realise that I wasn’t ready for all that marriage entails.

I wish Caroline all the happiness she deserves and thank her for the great times we’ve had. I will not be saying anything more about our relationship in any setting.

Rory seemed genuinely hurt by the decision and struggled through a press conference at Wentworth on Tuesday.

The relationship had been a turbulent one for both sport stars as rumours circulated around various fall-outs and break-ups. Some people even questioned whether the relationship was good for Rory’s career.

article-2634871-1E10D09000000578-883_634x393

That got me to thinking. Did the relationship impacted their professions?

Now, I know there is a lot more at play in professional sports than just getting along with your other half, however a glimpse at the pairs’ world rankings before and after they started dating does raise some questions.

ranking

When the pair started dating in late July 2011, Wozniacki was the No.1 female tennis player in the world and Rory was ranked 4th.

By the time Rory released the statement on Tuesday morning, he had fallen to 10th in the world rankings and Wozniacki further still, at 14th.

In the 34 months whilst they were dating, the pair took home a combined 11 titles. In the 34 months prior to their relationship, they won 21.

I am not, by any means, suggesting their relationship impacted their performance on the course or the court, I am simply laying out the numbers and throwing them out there for debate.

And talking of debating numbers, Paddy Power tweeted out their official odds on Rory McIlroy’s next girlfriend within an hour of the announcement he had called off his engagement. To win, your bet needs to have been confirmed, by Rory himself, by the end of 2015.

For the record, I’m backing Taylor Swift at 33/1.

About jamieonsport

My name is Jamie and I have been addicted to sports since I was 6. As a method of self-prescribed medication for the illness, I thought it would be good to detail my thoughts on the sporting world. So welcome to the workings of my inner-monologue. Join in, ignore, share, laugh, cry, be offended, be inspired, take my ranting however you will, but thanks for checking in.
This entry was posted in Golf. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

